27 January 2012

Ashtanga Yoga Mysore aged 50 (well almost)



SO I have arrived in Mysore for the first time in what will be the year of my 50th birthday. I have registered at the shala, and as suspected I am one of the older students.
 I think there will be pros and cons of making my first trip to practise at the home of Ashtanga yoga at this stage of my life-My body is not what it once was, and some of the poses do not come as easily as they have done at various stages in the past....The up side to having many years of practise is that the other seven limbs are growing, and I have a pretty firm foundation in the subtle aspects of both myself, and this amazing yoga practise although there is a long way to go.
 I have left my nice comfy home and family, to rent a room in a shared space with fellow yogis, with whom I will share this journey......
I have not come to "find myself" as im not lost ( this is what some people thing you come to India for).
 I have not come to Mysore to get more poses, nor to get certified as a teacher- I have come to practise yoga at the source, and feel privileged to have the opportunity to do this. Having the time to focus just on yoga, to be fully absorbed, to rest, to listen to the guru is why I have come..... I am very lucky to have a supportive husband and family who know how important it is to me, to take this time out.....let the experience commence. 

5 comments:

  1. Excellent! Welcome and good luck! :-)

    ReplyDelete
  2. Hey Cherie, how wonderful to arrive in Mysore with all of your rich perspective, experience and support. I'm sure it will be a wonderful and transformative experience in ways both expected and unexpected. And hey, I landed in Mysore at the age of 53 with about 6 weeks of yoga behind me, so you are way ahead!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Hoping some of that will stand me in good stead here in Mysore-I'm inspired by your arrival at 53 with 6 weeks of practise in the bank :-) Just shows its available to those who seek it. x

    ReplyDelete

All comments are moderated. If you would like to leave a comment, you can do so below.